Next issueIssue 16 ยท Tue 29 Sep 

collaboration and option-to-license

Gilgamesh Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (agreement transferred to Gilgamesh Pharma Inc. at the 2025 spin-out)AbbVie Inc.

Target
Gilgamesh Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (agreement transferred to Gilgamesh Pharma Inc. at the 2025 spin-out)
Acquirer or investor
AbbVie Inc.
Upfront
$65m
Contingent
$1.9bn
Headline total
$2bn
Currency
USD
Status
active
Close date
Not disclosed
Geography
US
Lead asset
not named (next-generation neuroplastogen portfolio)
Phase
not stated
Indication
psychiatric disorders

Structure

AbbVie release 2024-05-13: 'Gilgamesh will receive an upfront payment of $65 million from AbbVie and is eligible to receive up to $1.95 billion in aggregate option fees and milestones, as well as tiered royalties from mid-single to low-double digits on net sales.' 'Under terms of the agreement, AbbVie and Gilgamesh have agreed to research and develop a portfolio of next-generation therapeutics for psychiatric disorders. Upon exercise of the option, AbbVie will lead development and commercialization activities.' No compound is named. The $65 million and $1.95 billion figures were not found in AbbVie's SEC filings: EDGAR full-text search for 'Gilgamesh' in AbbVie filings (2026-09-17) returns six documents; the Q2 2024 earnings 8-K EX-99.1 (filed 2024-07-25) names the collaboration without figures; the Q3 2025 10-Q and FY2025 10-K mention the agreement without figures. Status: AbbVie release 2025-08-25, 'This option-to-license remains in effect and will be transferred to Gilgamesh Pharma Inc. in connection with the spin-out'; FY2025 10-K Note 5, p. 67, the spun-off entity retains 'an existing option-to-license agreement with AbbVie which remains in effect.' total_headline_usd_m 2015 is 65 + 1950, arithmetic, not a figure AbbVie published. Royalties excluded from all figures. Native USD.

Why it matters

AbbVie bought Gilgamesh's lead asset in 2025 (D003) and kept this option over the programmes that left with Gilgamesh Pharma Inc.; the 10-K records the option as still in effect after the acquisition.

In the briefing

Sourcing

Source type
press_release
Verified
17 September 2026
Confidence
reported